Esteban Gutiérrez

Portrait Esteban Gutiérrez

No more a rookie

 

Esteban Gutiérrez finished his debut 2013 season in Formula One as best rookie in 16th in the drivers’ championship. With his great talent he has demonstrated that he’s got what it takes for the top echelon of motor racing. Already he is well integrated in the team, where he is valued as an open, loyal and politely reserved young driver.

 

Gutiérrez began his career in karting. He then finished runner-up in the Formula BMW USA series in 2007 and went on to win the Formula BMW Europe crown a year later. After a spell in the Formula 3 Euro Series, he switched to the GP3 Series in 2010 and stormed to the championship title with five race wins. Two seasons in GP2 followed, the second of which (2012) saw him collect three victories and finish third in the standings. Gutiérrez was given his first chance to test for the BMW Sauber F1 Team in 2009 and further opportunities occurred in the next few years.

 

The team got to know Gutiérrez in 2008. He drove an outstanding season in Formula BMW Europe, which earned him the reward of a Formula One test drive in Jerez at the end of 2009. The young Mexican acquitted himself well and Sauber took him under its wing as an affiliated driver for 2010. The track schedules dovetailed nicely: with the GP3 races being held against the backdrop of the European Formula One events, Gutiérrez was always on location. That gave him frequent opportunities to listen in on the radio messages from the F1 garage and take part in technical meetings. He quickly grew into the team, was promoted to test and reserve driver in 2011 and Formula One driver in 2013. Team Principal Monisha Kaltenborn: “Last season he experienced how hard it can be for a rookie to step into Formula One. He had a tough start, nevertheless he improved significantly throughout the season in qualifying as well as in the races, and finished the season as best rookie in the drivers’ championship. We are confident that he will be able to translate his experience he gained into good results.”

Family ties

 

Gutiérrez has four brothers and a sister, him being the second youngest. Chauffeuring all of them around individually was not an option for the parents, and so it was rather convenient that Esteban discovered karting as a hobby at the same time as his brother Andres, seven years his senior. For the older brother it was to remain a hobby: today he works for his father’s business, which includes a supermarket chain, a wholesaler for the outlets, and a steel company.

 

“As children we were always busy doing things and we also had a lot of different toys,” recalled Gutiérrez. “However, when I started clamouring for a go-kart, my father was initially opposed. Fortunately, my cousin already had a go-kart, which helped my case.” After cutting his teeth in kart racing in 2004, his career soon picked up speed. At the age of 13 he began competing in races, at 15 he had switched to a single-seater raceing car, and at 16 he was lining up on the grid in Europe for the first time.

Gutiérrez has been with Sauber for four years now. He feels comfortable and is looking forward to the continuing collaboration. “I am happy to be able to continue as a driver for the Sauber F1 Team. It was a steep learning curve during the past season, but working together with the team I was able to improve continuously. It will be my fourth year with the team, the second as a racing driver, and I feel comfortable to take the next step. The technical challenges in 2014 will be massive. Therefore it will be even more important to know the people you are working with very well. I will do my very best to improve even more and support the team as best as I possibly can.”

Esteban Gutiérrez

Date / Place of birth 5th August 1991 / Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Nationality Mexican
Website www.estebanracing.com
Marital status Single
Height / Weight 1.80 m / 63 kg
Hobbies Karting, motorbike trials, golf, skiing, virtual racing
Favourite food Italian cuisine and sushi
Favourite drink Lemonade
Favourite music Coldplay, Muse, Kings of Leon
Favourite race track Hockenheim
Languages Spanish, English, French

Career

2004 Kart racing: Mexican Rotax Max Challenge
2005 Kart racing: Mexican Rotax Max Challenge, 3rd place in the Grand Nationals in South Bend
2006 Kart racing: Mexican Rotax Max Challenge, 1st place North Mexican Series, 4th place in the Mexican Grand Nationals in Zacatecas; Camkart Challenge Mexico: 5 wins in 5 races; tests Formula Renault 2000 Ayrton Senna award and trophy for Achievement and Sportsmanship
2007 2nd place Formula BMW USA, Rookie of the Year, 4 wins, 8 podiums, 9 poles; tests A1 GP; Formula BMW races in Hockenheim and World Final in Valencia
2008 1st place Formula BMW Europe, 7 wins in 16 races, 12 podiums, 3 poles; 3rd place Formula BMW World Final in Mexico City; Formula Master races in Imola and German Formula 3 Championship in Oschersleben; tests Formula 3 Euro Series
2009 9th place Formula 3 Euro Series, 3 podiums (1 in the F3 Euro Series and 2 in the British F3 Int.-Invitational Division) tests Formula One (BMW Sauber F1 Team) and GP2, youngest Mexican driver in history to test an F1 Car, at 18 years old
2010 1st place GP3 Series, five wins, total of nine podiums, 3 poles; affiliated driver at Sauber Motorsport for Formula One
2011 GP2 Asia and GP2 Main Series, 1 win, total 2 podiums test and reserve driver Sauber F1 Team
2012 3rd place GP2 Series, 3 wins, total 7 podiums; test and reserve driver Sauber F1 Team
2013 16th FIA Formula One World Championship, 6 points (Sauber F1 Team)

F1 stats to date:

First GP Australia2013
GP starts 19
Best race result 7. Japan (2013)
Best Qualifying 9. Korea (2013)
Points 6
Wins -
Polepositions -
Podium positions -
Fastest race laps 1

Our Partners

  • Claro
  • Telmex
  • NEC
  • Oerlikon
  • Chelsea Football Club
  • McGregor
  • Cuervo Tequila
  • Interproteccion
  • Certina
  • Unifin
  • Emil Frey AG
  • Gabrielle's Angel Foundation
  • Mitsubishi Electric
  • NetApp
  • Pirelli
  • OMP
  • Swiss Fibertec
  • Thomann
  • Walter Meier
  • Wikland

Esteban Gutiérrez

Kein Rookie mehr

Esteban Gutiérrez bestritt 2013 seine erste Saison als Formel-1-Stammfahrer und schnitt in der Fahrerwertung als bester Rookie ab. Damit hat er bewiesen, dass er das Rüstzeug für die Königsklasse besitzt. Im Team ist er bereits bestens integriert und wird als offenherzige, loyale und gleichzeitig zurückhaltende Persönlichkeit geschätzt.

Gutiérrez begann seine Karriere im Kartsport, wurde 2007 Zweiter der amerikanischen Formel BMW, ehe er ein Jahr später die europäische Formel BMW für sich entschied. Über die Formel-3-Euroserie stieg er 2010 in die GP3-Meisterschaft auf, die er mit fünf Siegen souverän gewann. Es folgten zwei Jahre in der GP2. 2012 siegte Gutiérrez drei Mal und beendete die Meisterschaft auf Rang drei. Bereits 2009 hatte er erstmals Gelegenheit, für das damalige BMW Sauber F1 Team zu testen. In den folgenden Jahren kamen weitere Einsätze hinzu.

Das Team lernte den jungen Gutiérrez 2008 kennen. Er fuhr damals eine herausragende Saison in der Formel BMW Europa, für die er mit einem Formel-1-Test belohnt wurde, der Ende 2009 in Jerez stattfand. Der Mexikaner machte seine Arbeit gut. Für 2010 nahm ihn Sauber als ‚Affiliated Driver‘ unter seine Fittiche. Das Programm passte: Gutiérrez war aufgrund der GP3-Rennen bei den Europaläufen der Formel 1 vor Ort. So hatte er oft die Möglichkeit, in der Formel-1-Garage den Funk mitzuhören oder an technischen Meetings teilzunehmen. Er wuchs ins Team hinein, wurde 2011 zum Test- und Ersatzfahrer und 2013 zum Stammfahrer befördert. Teamchefin Monisha Kaltenborn: „Esteban hat in der vergangenen Saison erlebt, wie schwer der Schritt in die Formel 1 für jeden Rookie ist. Er hatte einen harzigen Start, konnte sich dann aber im Laufe der Saison sowohl in den Qualifiyings als auch in den Rennen wesentlich steigern, und beendete seine Saison als bester Rookie in der Fahrerwertung. Wir sind überzeugt, dass er die gewonnene Erfahrung nun in gute Resultate umsetzen kann.“

Familienbande

 

Guriérrez hat noch vier Brüder und eine Schwester, er ist der Zweitjüngste. Angesichts einer solchen Kinderschar können sich Eltern nicht zum Chauffeur machen. So war es praktisch, dass Esteban das Hobby des Kartsports gleichzeitig mit seinem um sieben Jahre älteren Bruder Andres entdeckte. Für den grossen Bruder ist es allerdings beim Hobby geblieben. Er arbeitet mit im väterlichen Unternehmen, zu dem eine Supermarktkette, ein Grosshandel für die Märkte und ein Stahlunternehmen gehören.

„Wir haben als Kinder immer viel unternommen und hatten auch diverse Spielzeuge“, erinnert sich Esteban Gutiérrez, „als ich dann unbedingt auch noch ein Kart wollte, war mein Vater erst gar nicht dafür. Zum Glück hatte mein Cousin schon ein Go-Kart, das hat die Diskussion etwas leichter gemacht.“ Nach dem Einstieg in den Kartsport 2004 nahm seine Laufbahn rasch Fahrt auf. Als 13-Jähriger begann er, Rennen zu fahren, mit 15 sass er schon im Monoposto, mit 16 startete er erstmals in Europa.

Esteban Gutiérrez ist seit vier Jahren mit Sauber verbunden. Er fühlt sich sehr wohl und freut sich auf die weitere Zusammenarbeit. „Ich freue mich sehr, weiterhin für das Sauber F1 Team zu fahren. In der vergangenen Saison hatte ich eine steile Lernkurve, und zusammen mit dem Team konnte ich mich kontinuierlich verbessern. Das wird nun insgesamt mein viertes Jahr mit der Mannschaft, das zweite als Stammfahrer. Ich fühle mich sehr wohl und bin bereit für den nächsten Schritt. Die nächste Saison wird technisch eine riesige Herausforderung. Umso wichtiger ist es, die Leute, mit denen man arbeitet, gut zu kennen. Ich werde alles geben, mich weiter zu steigern, und das Team mit all meinen Möglichkeiten zu unterstützen.“

Esteban Gutiérrez

Geburtstag / -ort 5. August 1991 / Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Nationalität Mexikaner
Website www.estebanracing.com
Grösse / Gewicht 1.80 m / 63 kg
Familienstand Single
Hobbys Kart fahren, Trial, Golfen, Skifahren
Lieblingsessen Italienische Küche und Sushi
Lieblingsgetränk Limonade
Bevorzugte Musik Coldplay, Muse, Kings of Leon
Lieblingsstrecke Hockenheim
Sprachen Spanisch, Englisch, Französisch

Laufbahn

2004 Kartsport: Mexican Rotax Max Challenge
2005 Kartsport: Mexican Rotax Max Challenge, 3. Platz bei den Grand Nationals in South Bend
2006 Kartsport: Mexican Rotax Max Challenge, 1. Platz nordmexikanische Serie,
4. Platz bei den Mexican Grand Nationals in Zacatecas;
Camkart Challenge Mexico: 5 Siege in 5 Rennen;
Testfahrten Formel Renault 2000;
Ayrton Senna Auszeichnung und Pokal für “Achievement and Sportsmanship”
2007 2. Platz Formel BMW USA, Rookie of the Year, 4 Siege, 8 Polepositions;
Testfahrten A1 GP;
Teilnahme Formel BMW Rennen in Hockenheim und Weltfinale in Valencia
2008 1. Platz Formel BMW Europa, 7 Siege in 16 Rennen, 3 Polepositions;
3. Platz Formel BMW Weltfinale in Mexico Stadt;
Teilnahme Formula Master Rennen in Imola und Deutsche Formel-3-Meisterschaft in Oschersleben;
Testfahrten Formel-3-Euroserie
2009 9. Platz Formel-3-Euroserie; 3 Podestplätze (1 in der F3 Euroserie und 2 in der British F3 Int’l Invitational Division);
erster Testtag Formel 1 (BMW Sauber F1 Team) und GP2-Testfahrten, jüngster mexikanischer Testfahrer in der Geschichte der Formel 1 (18-jährig)
2010 1. Platz GP3-Serie , 5 Siege, Total 9 Podiumsplatzierungen, 3 Polepositions:
‘affiliated driver’ beim Sauber Formel 1 Team,
2011 GP2 Asia und GP2 Main Series , 1 Sieg, Total 2 Podiumsplatzierungen;
Test- und Ersatzfahrer Sauber F1 Team
2012 3. Platz GP2-Serie , 3 Siege, Total 7 Podiumsplatzierungen;
Test- und Ersatzfahrer Sauber F1 Team
2013 16. Platz FIA Formel-1-Weltmeisterschaft, 6 Punkte (Sauber F1 Team)
Erster GP Australien 2013
GP gestartet 19
Bestes Rennergebnis 7. Japan (2013)
Bestes Qualifying 9. Korea (2013)
Punkte 6
Siege -
Polepositions -
Podiumsplatzierungen -
Schnellste Rennrunden 1

Unsere Partner

  • Claro
  • Telmex
  • NEC
  • Oerlikon
  • Chelsea Football Club
  • McGregor
  • Cuervo Tequila
  • Interproteccion
  • Certina
  • Pacific Ventures
  • Unifin
  • Emil Frey AG
  • Gabrielle's Angel Foundation
  • Mitsubishi Electric
  • NetApp
  • Pirelli
  • OMP
  • Swiss Fibertec
  • Thomann
  • Walter Meier
  • Wikland